View mobile menu logo


85th Annual General Meeting

The NFYFC's Annual General Meeting on Sunday 23 April 2017 was an opportunity to review the previous year and look ahead to the future. Our National Chairman of Council for 2016/17 and our five Steering Group Chairmen fed back on their achievements over the previous year. Every NFYFC member was invited to attend the Annual General Meeting to be part of the proceedings and vote on any motions that were put forward. 

NFYFC President Poul Christensen chaired the 85th AGM and all members were invited to attend.

Special General Meeting to be held at The Riviera Conference Centre, Torquay

Sunday 23rd April 2017 commencing at 10.30am

10.15am members took their seats, 10.30am meeting commenced
By instruction of the NFYFC Council there was a Special General Meeting of the National Federation of Young Farmers' Clubs held in order to amend the Rules (Constitution) of the NFYFC.

1. Appointment of returning officers and tellers

That the Constitution of the Federation be amended by way of the deletion of paragraphs (a) and (b) of existing rule 21 of the constitution of the Federation and the substitution therefor of the following sentence:-
“Upon dissolution of the Federation the assets, and any liabilities, shall be transferred to a company with charitable status having objects similar to those of the Federation”.
Proposer: Ed Ford (Chair of Council) Seconder: Laura Elliott (Glamorgan FYFC)

3. Close
Immediately following the Special General Meeting the Annual General Meeting will be held.


85th Annual General Meeting

1. Presidents opening remarks

2. Apologies for absence

3. Introduction of the top table, guests and visitors
3.1. Introductions given by Chair of NFYFC Council 2017

4. To confirm the minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on Sunday 8th May 2016

“That Mr Poul Christensen CBE be thanked for his services, and Mrs Charlotte Smith be elected President from April 2017 - May 2018”
Proposer: Lynsey Martin (Kent FYFC) Seconder: Tom Wells (Lincolnshire FYFC)
5.2. Deputy Presidents - MOTION FROM NFYFC COUNCIL
“That the 2016 deputy presidents be thanked for their services to the Federation over the past year and that the following be elected from April 2017 – May 2018”
Eastern Area Charlie Willett
East Midlands Area Clifford Bell
Northern Area Diane Coles
South East Area Alethea Snelling
South West Area Jennifer Rabjohns
Wales Sharon Jones
West Midlands Area David Fellows

Proposer: Kate Wainwright (Derbyshire FYFC) Seconder: Ben Cavill (South West Area Chair)

“That the Annual Report for 2016 be adopted”
Introduction: Chris Manley – Chair of NFYFC Council 2016, supported by NFYFC Steering Group Chairs 2016
6.1. To receive the report of the Board of Management and presentation of Audited Accounts
6.1.1. Board of Management
Presented by: Frank Chester Chair, NFYFC Board of Management 2016
6.1.2. Presentation of the Audited Accounts
Presented by: Chris Lloyd – NFYFC Hon Treasurer 2016
6.1.3. “That a firm of auditors, Grant Thornton Birmingham, be appointed for 2017 and the Audited Accounts for the year-ending 31 December 2016 be adopted”
Proposer: George Goodwin (Staffordshire FYFC) Seconder: Claire Bellew (Devon FYFC)
6.2. To receive the report of the Agriculture & Rural Issues (AGRI) Steering Group
Presented by: Sam Dilcock - Chair, NFYFC AGRI Steering Group 2016
6.3. To receive the report of the Competitions Steering Group
Presented by: Oonagh O’Neill - Chair, NFYFC Competitions Steering Group 2016
6.3.1. Announcement of Member of the Year (18 & over) competition results
Announced by: Rachel Parker - Chair, NFYFC Competitions Steering Group 2017
6.4. To receive the report of the Events & Marketing (E&M) Steering Group
Presented by: Caroline Baker - Chair, NFYFC Events and Marketing Steering Group 2016
6.5. To receive the report of the Personal Development (PD) Steering Group
Presented by: Mark Hurst - Chair, NFYFC Personal Development Steering Group 2016
6.5.1. Young Farmers Ambassadors presentations
Presented by: Mrs Kate Carless – Chair YFA
6.6. To receive the report of the Youth Forum (YF) Steering Group
Presented by: Amy McWhirter - Chair, NFYFC Youth Forum 2016
6.7. To receive the report of the Wales Young Farmers’ Clubs
Presented by: Arwell Jones - Chair, Wales Federation of Young Farmers’ Clubs 2016
6.8. Presentation of the YFC Life Blood Award
6.9. To adopt the Annual Report
Proposer: Chris Manley - Chair, NFYFC Council 2016 Seconder: Ed Ford Vice Chair, NFYFC Council 2016

“That Mr Frank Chester be elected to the position of Holding Trustee of the NFYFC”
Proposer: Christina Coulthard (Cumbria FYFC) Seconder: Edward Bentley (Yorkshire FYFC)

”That in recognition of his services and commitment to the National Federation of Young Farmers’ Clubs, Mr Julian Sayers FRICS FAAV FRAgS be elected Life Vice President of the NFYFC”
Proposer: Andrew Grant (Abingdon & District YFC) Seconder: Adam Churchman (Oxfordshire FYFC)

9. Presentation of awards
Announced by: Oonagh O’Neill - Chair, NFYFC Competitions Steering Group 2016
Assisted by: Rachel Parker - Chair, NFYFC Competitions Steering Group 2017

10. Vote of thanks
Proposer: Katie Hall - Vice Chair of NFYFC Council 2017

11. Close.



Raffle gives YFC Competitions programme a boost

Luxury hotel breaks and a scale model tractor were among the raffle MORE

Young Farmers help to raise money for Torbay Street Pastors

Young Farmers raised £15,000 for charity during NFYFC’s Annual MORE

↑ Scroll to menu
About cookies on our website

Following a revised EU directive on website cookies, each company based, or doing business, in the EU is required to notify users about the cookies used on their website.

Our site uses cookies to improve your experience of certain areas of the site and to allow the use of specific functionality like social media page sharing. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but as a result parts of the site may not work as intended.

To find out more about what cookies are, which cookies we use on this website and how to delete and block cookies, please see our Which cookies we use page.

Click on the button below to accept the use of cookies on this website (this will prevent the dialogue box from appearing on future visits)